3 Things to Know in Hit and Run

If you’ve been involved in a hit-and-run, there are a few things you should know. You may have not known what to do, or felt unsafe at the scene or were afraid of potential consequences and reacted instinctively. It is important to take charge of your situation, and here are a few things you might want to know.

Legal Help

The first thing would be to find a hit and run lawyer fairfax. You could be facing criminal hit-and-run charges on top of other charges due to your crash. An attorney would help you understand what legal consequences you may be facing and how to proceed for the most favorable outcome.

Criminal repercussions for a hit and run can vary from state to state, so it’s important to hire a local attorney familiar with your state laws.

Potential Sentences

In the state of Virginia, there are several possible sentences for fleeing the scene of a crash, depending on factors like whether it was fatal or caused an injury or damaged property. You can discuss potential specific sentences with an attorney if you have one.

A few potential sentences can be up to a one-year jail sentence for a Class 1 misdemeanor if the property damage was more than $250 and less than $1,000. Do note that if the crash led to a fatality, injury or over $1,000 in property damage, it can mean up to a 10-year prison sentence as a Class 5 felony.

Other Consequences

You may also lose your driving license if it was a misdemeanor hit-and-run in Virginia. A felony hit-and-run could mean mandatory revocation of your license. You could also see your car insurance premiums jump. The other party can also bring a civil lawsuit against you.

Since 2006, there are about 682,000 hit-and-run crashes on average every year. Remain alert and practice defensive driving to stay safe.